A Double Hit

an essay by Abigail, The Basic Essay Online Course

“Abigail!” my coach called to me right before I stepped to the plate. “Do what you do best,” he prompted with a slight nod and smile. Inhaling deeply, I advanced towards home plate with my aluminum bat. As the pitcher released the softball, I quickly judged its placement and aggressively swung, forcing the ball into right field between first and second base. I smile broadly at my coach after I reached first base safely, acknowledging all the hard work and practice behind that hit. My love for softball had emerged when my church uncharacteristically decided to raise a softball team to play in the local Church Softball League. As a rookie, my skills required significant development. Through the seasons, the most important aspect I learned was teamwork. Ever since that first summer, softball has become one of my favorite pastimes.

After a five year hiatus, the church softball team sprang back to life in the most unusual way. One winter, the evangelism committee, of which my dad was a part, decided to pool ideas for outreach. At a following meeting, many ideas came forth. Catching the most attention, a softball team opportunity bounded to the front. Unanimously the committee agreed and tossed the ball into my dad’s lap since he was the one that had casually mentioned it. This was shocking. My dad could care less about sports. Thus, he wisely issued two conditions: first, he needed a coach; and second, he needed players. The deadline was set for May fifteenth. Dad decided to start with Jerry, a former softball player who had proceeded to the national level. When Dad first called Jerry, he planned on just asking a few questions about softball and for suggestions of anyone who would be interested in coaching a new team. Enthusiastically Jerry responded that he would love to help out on one condition: no paperwork. My dad readily agreed to conquer the paperwork if Jerry would mange the coaching. Excitement rose among the kids in my family at the possibility of playing on a real softball team. Eagerly we sought recruits to join us. To our delight, we received our fifteenth player on May fifteenth! Each player paid ten dollars towards the team’s expense of entering the Church Softball League. With the fifteen committed players, we paid the exact amount needed. Surely God was orchestrating this softball team! I will never forget how the church softball team uncharacteristically started its promising career.

That first year, Jerry wisely tested me at various positions. Usually I ended up at second base, which increasingly grew as my favorite. Accurately throwing to first base, confidently fielding ground balls, and mentally thinking like an infielder, I developed the skills needed in order to excel as a second baseman. While I had plenty to learn on the field, I required an even greater education for batting. Often I would swing and miss the ball completely. By incorporating Jerry’s suggestions, I progressively improved as I daily practiced with my brother John. Achieving the basics, I was enthusiastically determined to learn more specifics during Jerry’s winter batting practices. By the next summer, not only could I make contact with the ball, I could direct it anywhere I wanted. When my batting skills had advanced, I turned my attention back to fielding. Alongside John again, I diligently worked on double plays, the difficult one-hoppers, and throw-ins from the outfield. Little by little, my skills all over the softball field progressed.

Of course softball requires more than just individual skills; it requires teamwork. Demanding practice, teamwork is a skill that is acquired like any other. In the beginning, we lost plays due to confusion and misunderstandings. However, we continually developed our understanding and trust in one another after spending practice and game-time together. Communication among the team members, both talking and listening, advanced as key elements in our games. As a second baseman, I was responsible for the relays from the right side of the field. In order to execute a play on the infield from the outfield, multiple team members had to talk and listen to each other simultaneously. Helping the outfielders align for the quickest throw in, I talked to them while at the same time listening to my other infielders about where to throw the ball once I received it. As the season progressed, we all realized that we needed each other to achieve each and every play. We won two of the easier games our first season and expanded our skills together.

Without a doubt, I am glad that softball entered my life! Although I have learned numerous skills ranging from ground balls to batting, I know more now about communication and cooperation than I ever thought possible. As a result, the skill that will stay with me for my life is teamwork. Most of all, the unique conception of — Lutheran’s softball team will always remind me that God controls everything, even the things we do for pleasure and recreation.

Leave a comment